VisaStudents · independent study-abroad admissions & guidance. We are not an immigration agent and do not issue visas; your university and the UAE authorities do. This is general information; always confirm the current rules at u.ae.
VisaStudents - Study in Dubai Check eligibility
Study in Dubai › Cost of studying
🧾 2026-27 fees · checked university by university

Cost of studying in Dubai: the real 2026-27 numbers.

Tuition at 13 universities, what each one charges for the student visa, rent near the campuses and insurance. Every figure comes from the university's or the government's own page, and you can see it in your own currency.

Cheapest bachelor'sAED 43,575 / yr
Manipal Dubai
Typical branch campusAED 61,000–65,000 / yr
Visa package, year 1AED 5,500–9,800
part is a refundable deposit
Shared roomAED 2,200–3,500 / month
Last reviewed: 8 October 2026 · Exchange rates of 8 October 2026
Cost calculator

Add up your all-in cost

Tiers are built from the verified fees below. Change the inputs and the total updates instantly.

Estimated year 1
-
Tuition (year 1)-
Visa package (year 1)AED 5,500
Health insurance-
Living (12 months)-
Full programme total-
Indicative. Visa uses AED 5,500 in year 1 and AED 2,500 for each renewal; refundable deposits, flights and one-off fees are not included. Living costs are our estimate built on the verified rents below. Universities bill in AED.

💬 Get my exact quote in my currency

University fees in Dubai

Bachelor's tuition 2026-27, cheapest first

University (Dubai campus)Programme examplePer year (AED)≈ INR / yrWhole degree (AED)VAT
Manipal Academy of Higher EducationCheapestBBA / BSc IS (evening)43,575130,725 (3 yrs)incl.
ManipalBBA (day), BSc Psychology, BDes50,925152,775 (3 yrs)incl.
BITS Pilani DubaiCheap engineeringB.E. (all branches)55,500222,000 (4 yrs)not stated
ManipalBTech (day), BArch57,750231,000 (4 yrs)incl.
Curtin University Dubai3-year bachelor's (Commerce, IT, Cyber, Design, Psychology)60,900182,700 (3 yrs)incl.
Murdoch University DubaiAll bachelor's (2027 rate)61,160183,480 (3 yrs)incl.
University of Wollongong in DubaiBBA, Computer Science, Psychology63,449190,347 (3 yrs)incl.
Middlesex University DubaiAll undergraduate programmes64,557193,671 (3 yrs)incl.
Amity University DubaiBBA / BCom (AED 2,100 per credit)≈ 64,575≈ 258,300 (4 yrs)+5% VAT
RIT DubaiAll BS programmes68,000272,000 (4 yrs)0% on tuition
Heriot-Watt University DubaiBBA / Computer Science (Cyber)78,650–82,264-incl.
American University in DubaiAll undergraduate (incl. AED 2,000 services fee)108,050≈ 432,200 (4 yrs)incl.
University of Birmingham DubaiDigital Media BA to Computer Science MEng119,700–156,718-not stated
Fees from each university's official 2026-27 fee page (Murdoch shows its 2027 rate; Heriot-Watt its January 2027 intake). Converted column uses 8 October 2026 rates; for ranges it converts the lower figure. Fees can rise each year (Canadian University Dubai and RIT say up to 10%). Foundation years if you need one: Manipal AED 36,750, Murdoch 47,820, Middlesex 50,301, Curtin 52,500.
On a budget

The cheapest universities in Dubai, honestly ranked

  • Manipal Dubai: from AED 43,575 a year (evening BBA and BSc IS) up to 57,750 for BTech. The cheapest verified option overall.
  • BITS Pilani Dubai: AED 55,500 a year, the cheapest 4-year engineering degree after Manipal's BTech.
  • Curtin (about AED 60,900) and Murdoch (AED 61,160): the cheapest Australian degrees in Dubai.
  • Wollongong in Dubai (AED 63,449) and Middlesex (AED 64,557): the cheapest mainstream Australian and UK degrees.
  • A niche one: Wollongong's Bachelor of Nursing (conversion) costs AED 42,466 a year, but it's only for students who already hold a nursing diploma.

Be careful with "cheap university" lists. Several popular lists mix in colleges that are actually in Sharjah or Ajman, providers whose accreditation you should check, or fees from 2023. Amity is often listed at about AED 40,000, but at its published AED 2,100 per credit plus VAT a BBA works out at roughly AED 64,600 a year.

Postgraduate

Master's and MBA: total programme cost

UniversityProgrammeTotal (AED)≈ INRVAT
Amity DubaiMBA (30 credits × AED 2,200)≈ 66,000+5% VAT
Middlesex DubaiMSc / MA / LLM76,491–94,101incl.
Curtin DubaiMaster of AI / Cyber Security (12 months)84,000incl.
Middlesex DubaiMBA84,872incl.
Manipal DubaiMSc / MTech / MDes / MA (2 years)85,050incl.
Murdoch DubaiMBA89,000incl.
Wollongong in DubaiMost master's (10–12 subjects)94,154–112,984incl.
Heriot-Watt DubaiMSc Finance & Management99,528incl.
RIT DubaiMS Engineering / Cyber117,0000%
Birmingham DubaiMSc, 1 year full-time139,173–174,509not stated
American University in DubaiMBA (12 courses)173,880incl.
Student visa

What each university charges for the visa

You don't pay the government directly: the university charges a package that includes the government fees, the medical test and your Emirates ID. Applying from your home country is cheaper than switching visa inside the UAE.

UniversityNew visa (from outside UAE)Refundable depositYearly renewalInsurance included?
Murdoch DubaiAED 2,8007,0002,400No (plan AED 1,350)
BITS Pilani DubaiAED 2,900-2,150No (plan AED 3,250)
Heriot-Watt DubaiAED 3,013.503,0002,910No
RIT DubaiAED 5,300 (incl. 2,500 deposit)2,5001,750No (from AED 3,150)
Manipal DubaiAED 5,4603,000-Yes
Middlesex DubaiAED 5,555.222,5004,570.22Yes
American University in DubaiAED 8,200 (visa 2,000 + deposit 3,000 + insurance 3,200)3,000-Yes
Wollongong in DubaiAED 8,237part of 2,500 charge-Yes
Government fee lines for a student residence permit (Dubai GDRFA): AED 200 residence fee, AED 10 Knowledge Dirham, AED 10 Innovation Dirham, AED 20 delivery, plus AED 500 if issued inside the country. Murdoch's visa fee sheet is dated 2023, so confirm before paying. Full steps and attestation by country in our Dubai student visa guide.
Living costs

Rent near the campuses (Sept 2026 prices)

AreaResidence / typePer month (AED)Notes
Near Dubai Knowledge ParkESAW: triple / twin sharing2,200 / 2,50010–12 month contract, +5% VAT, deposit 3,000, free shuttle
Academic City (DIAC)The Myriad: twin room3,0508–12 months, utilities and Wi-Fi included, deposit 3,500
Near Academic CityKSK Homes: twin room3,05010–12 months, deposit 3,000
DubailandYugo: twin en-suite3,500Full year, deposit 2,500
University hostelManipal: triple room≈ 2,500AED 30,000 a year +5% VAT, food not included
University hostelAmerican University in Dubai: shared≈ 1,420AED 17,000 a year on campus
Any of the abovePrivate room / studio3,800–7,350ESAW, Myriad and Yugo price lists

Transport, food and phone

  • Metro and bus: AED 3 to 7.50 a trip. With a personal (blue) nol card, students pay 50%. Some universities run their own buses (Manipal AED 2,125–2,850 a semester).
  • Food: a cheap restaurant meal is about AED 47; cooking at home is far cheaper (rice AED 9 a kilo, a dozen eggs AED 12). These are crowd-sourced Numbeo prices, so take them as a guide.
  • Phone: a mobile plan with 10 GB+ is about AED 200 a month. Internet is usually included in student housing.
  • Health insurance is mandatory for the visa: university plans cost AED 1,350 to 3,250 a year.

Can you work to cover costs?

Yes, but only with your university's no-objection letter and the right permit, usually with companies in free zones such as Dubai Knowledge Park and Academic City. Some universities, such as Middlesex, don't allow it on their visa. Treat it as pocket money, not as the way to pay your tuition.

Pay less

Scholarships you can actually get

Merit scholarships of 15–50% are common and are often decided automatically from your Class 12, A-level or WAEC marks. Several apply to the first year only, so check whether yours renews.

UniversityScholarship
Heriot-Watt DubaiUndergraduate merit 30% / 40% / 50% (CBSE 80–84.9% / 85–89.9% / 90%+; Pakistani FBISE also listed)
Birmingham DubaiUp to 30% a year, automatic. CBSE above 90% = 30%, above 85% = 25%, above 80% = 20%, above 75% = 15%
Manipal DubaiMerit and sports 5–50% of first-year tuition (renewal needs CGPA 7+)
Murdoch DubaiAcademic merit 15–40% of total tuition
RIT Dubai40% of first-year tuition for international students, 10 places a year
BITS Pilani Dubai25% (CGPA 9+), 15% (8.5–8.99), 10% (8.0–8.49)
Amity Dubai"Up to 50%" on all degrees
Curtin DubaiFoundation grant up to AED 10,000; Women in STEM (postgraduate) up to 40%
Middlesex DubaiInternational study grant (percentage not published); 3% off for paying the full year upfront
Don't get caught out

Costs most fee lists leave out

🧾 Application and registration

Application: American University in Dubai AED 420, Curtin 367, Heriot-Watt 525, BITS 220, Amity 100. Registration: Manipal AED 3,150 (undergraduate), Amity AED 500 a semester.

💳 Deposits

To accept an offer: Birmingham AED 5,000, American University in Dubai 5,000, Curtin 3,500, Middlesex 3,000, RIT 2,500. Plus a refundable visa deposit (AED 2,500–7,000) and a rent deposit (about AED 2,500–3,500).

📈 VAT and yearly increases

Amity quotes fees without the 5% VAT; most others include it. Canadian University Dubai and RIT say fees can rise up to 10% a year, so budget a little extra for years 2 and 3.

Worked examples

What year 1 really costs: two real students

Manipal BBA (day), hostel triple room

Tuition 50,925 + registration 3,150 + visa 5,460 (insurance included) + hostel 31,500 (with VAT) = AED 91,035, plus a refundable AED 3,000 visa deposit. Food not included.

Middlesex bachelor's, shared twin room in Academic City

Tuition 64,557 + visa 5,555 (insurance and Emirates ID included) + rent 3,050 × 10 months = AED 100,612, plus refundable deposits of AED 6,000 (visa 2,500 + room 3,500). Food not included.

Get your exact cost, in your currency

Tell us your target university and home country. We'll send you an all-in breakdown (tuition, visa, insurance and living) in your currency, plus the scholarships you qualify for.

📅 Book a free call💬 Get my cost breakdown
Good to know

Cost of studying in Dubai: FAQs

What is the cheapest university in Dubai?
Of the universities we verified for 2026-27, Manipal Dubai is the cheapest, from AED 43,575 a year (evening BBA and BSc IS), then BITS Pilani Dubai at AED 55,500 for engineering. The cheapest Australian and UK branch campuses are Curtin (about AED 60,900), Murdoch (61,160), Wollongong in Dubai (63,449) and Middlesex (64,557).
How much does it cost to study in Dubai per year?
For a bachelor's at a typical branch campus: tuition of AED 60,000–65,000, a visa package of about AED 5,500–9,800 in year one (part of it a refundable deposit), insurance of AED 1,350–3,250 and a shared room from about AED 2,200–3,500 a month.
How much is the student visa in Dubai?
Universities charge a package that bundles the government fees, medical test and Emirates ID. Published figures range from about AED 2,800 to 9,800 depending on the university and whether insurance and a refundable deposit are included.
Is health insurance mandatory?
Yes, it's a required document for the student residence permit. University student plans cost about AED 1,350–3,250 a year.
Can international students work in Dubai while studying?
Yes, with your university's no-objection letter and the proper permit, usually with companies in free zones such as Dubai Knowledge Park and Academic City. Some universities don't allow it, so don't plan to pay tuition from part-time work.
How much is it in Indian rupees?
At 8 October 2026 rates (1 AED = 26.37 INR), Manipal's evening BBA at AED 43,575 a year is about 11.5 lakh rupees in tuition, and a typical branch campus at AED 64,557 is about 17 lakh. Use the currency selector above for PKR, BDT, NGN, GHS or KES.